Every year on February 4 the World Health Organization (WHO) along with the International Union Against Cancer “celebrate” World Cancer Day by promoting ways to decrease cancer burdens in the world.

This year- 2010- their focus is promoting these four things:

  1. No tobacco use
  2. A healthy diet and regular exercise
  3. Limited alcohol use
  4. Protect against cancer causing infections

For those of us that do not have cancer now, living a healthy life may reduce the risk of cancer. We’ve all heard this, but what are we doing about it?

One way that you can start living healthier is to figure out what your personal diet recommendations are. Go to http://www.mypyramid.gov/mypyramid/index.aspx and you can discover this very easily.

This year I’ve made a goal to eat better and exercise on a regular basis and I can’t tell you how much better I feel! I know it doesn’t sound like it could be right, but by exercising every day I have more energy than I did just a couple months ago. It also elevates my mood and I feel so much happier throughout the day because of it. It is an awesome use of your time, so for those of you who aren’t exercising regularly, get to it! Even just 20 minutes a day makes a huge difference!